Shimla Dominates Champion City in 2016

Posted by
MTB Shimla
 January 2, 2017

Mtb Shimla 2016

The Hero MTB Shimla introduced the Champion City Trophy for the first time. This triggered the competition to an altogether new level. The camaraderie between the riders grew tremendously as they all started supporting their cities and motivating team members. Teams were formed instantly and battle lines drawn.

There was a total of 9 cities that stepped into the battle field including major cities like Shimla, Manali, Delhi, Chandigarh, Team SSB, Team BSF.  For a team to qualify for the city championship there must be a participation of atleast three riders from the city. The number of podiums each city achieves will eventually determine its standing.

Mtb Shimla 2016

As the days progressed it was clear that Shimla will be the runaway winner. The Open Men category was dominated by the Hero Action Team and Boys from Shimla . Champion rider Devender thakur took the overall winner and the open men category.  Akshit dominated the student category by a mile and surprised everyone with a second overall. This was his first race under the Hero Action team banner and he proved to one and all on why he is the hottest MTB Talent in the country. The boy is the future of Indian MTB scene.


Sarah took the Women Category and  put up a fight for Manali bringing them second in the reckoning while New Delhi/Gurgaon Finished third.




The Overall Podium Looked like this.

  1. Devender Thakur – Shimla
  2. Akshit Gaur – Shimla
  3. Shiven – Shimla


2017 will be very interesting as more cities will try to get their hands on the champion city trophy. However Shimla won’t let go of the title. The city has made Mountain Bike as their sport and produced the best talents in the country. They will be a hard nut to crack.

See you all in 2017

Leave a Comment

Please wait...